Five Counties in Western North Carolina Receive USDA Loving Support of Excellence Awards

September 19, 2018

Annually, the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), Food and Nutrition Services (FNS), Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC) recognizes local WIC agencies that have provided exemplary breastfeeding promotion and support activities. There are three levels of awards given: Gold, Gold Premiere and Gold Elite. Each award builds on the previous award and an agency must have achieved the previous award level to apply for the next level. These awards also identify that agencies are demonstrating model practices.


Five Counties in Western North Carolina were recognized in 2018 with the Loving Support of Excellence Award.

GOLD AWARD - Cherokee County, Madison County and Toe River Health District

GOLD PREMIERE AWARD - Buncombe County and Henderson County


Previous Award Winners include: 


GOLD AWARD - Buncombe County and Henderson County



GOLD AWARD - Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians




Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Featured Posts

Tips for Breastfeeding and Returning to Work

October 2, 2018

Please reload

Recent Posts
Please reload

Please reload

Search By Tags
Please reload

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square